Air Transport Order reaction radius.

Got any suggestions/wish list items? Put them here!

Moderators: Balthagor, Legend, BattleGoat, Moderators

Draken
General
Human: Yes

Air Transport Order reaction radius.

Post by Draken »

I have been using air assault tactics for several months now and one thing that bothers me is managing which helicopter squadron handles the call for air transport. Usually I keep my heli sqdn 4 to 5 hexes away from my air assault troops and sometimes, when I made a mistake calculating my airlift needs, I issue the air transport order to more units than I can transport with the nearby “assigned” heli sqdn so, the IA assign other sqdns to the task (as it should). Problem is that sometimes these extra sqdn are so far away from the troops they are ordered to transport that they even haven’t loaded their cargo when the closer heli sqdn already dropped theirs. Not to mention that in some cases the flight path of this extra sqdn put them in harm ways… For example:

Lets say that I have a stack of 3 airborne btns and 5 hexes away are 2 UH-60 sqdn (called A and B) and there is another UH-60 sqdn (named C). All units of default size. Now, I issue the airborne stack an Air Transport Order to move them 3 hexes away from their current position. All 3 UH-60 sqdns will react to this order, but A and B will pick up and deliver an airborne btn each long before C can pick up its own and while this happens A and B will be sitting there doing nothing. It is obvious that it would be more efficient if A or B after dropping its cargo goes back and transport the 3rd airborne btn. And, no, I do not want to lock C from AI control, because I want it to respond to Air Transport orders in his assigned area of responsibility (AOR).